The Higgs sector of the MSSM in the decoupling limit

Thumbnail Image
Full text at PDC
Publication Date
Advisors (or tutors)
Journal Title
Journal ISSN
Volume Title
Google Scholar
Research Projects
Organizational Units
Journal Issue
We study the heavy Higgs sector of the MSSM composed of the H+/-, H-0 and A(0) particles in the so-called decoupling limit where m(A0) >> m(z) By integrating out these heavy Higgs particles to one-loop, we compute the effective action for the electroweak gauge bosons and find out that, in the decoupling limit, ail the heavy Higgs effects can be absorbed into redefinitions of the Standard model electroweak parameters. This demonstrates explicitely that the decoupling theorem works for the heavy heavy Higgs particles. This is also compared with the paradigmatic and different case of the Standard Model heavy Higgs particle. Finally, this work together with our two previous works, complete the demonstration that all the non-standard particles in the MSSM namely, squarks, sleptons, charginos, neutralinos and the heavy Higgs particles, decouple to one-loop from the low energy electroweak gauge boson physics.
©Springer-Verlag 2000
Unesco subjects
1. C. Caso et al., Eur. Phys. J. C3 (1998) 1–794 2. Y. Okada, M. Yamaguchi, T. Yanagida, Prog. Theor. Phys. 85 (1991) 1–6 3. H. E. Haber, R. Hempfling, Phys. Rev. Lett. 66 (1991) 1815–1818 4. R. Barbieri, M. Frigeni, F. Caravaglios, Phys. Lett. B258 (1991) 167–170 5. J. Ellis, G. Ridolfi, F. Zwirner, Phys. Lett. B262 (1991) 477–484 6. J. Ellis, G. Ridolfi, F. Zwirner, Phys. Lett. B257 (1991) 83–91 7. R. Hempfling, A. H. Hoang, Phys. Lett. B331 (1994) 99-106, hep-ph/9401219 8. J. A. Casas, J. R. Espinosa, M. Quir´os, A. Riotto, Nucl. Phys. B436 (1995) 3–29, hep-ph/9407389 9. H. E. Haber, R. Hempfling, A. H. Hoang, Z. Phys. C75 (1997) 539, hep-ph/9609331 10. M. Quirós, J. R. Espinosa, hep-ph/9809269 11. J. A. Casas, J. R. Espinosa, H. E. Haber, Nucl. Phys. B526 (1998) 3, hep-ph/9801365 12. S. Heinemeyer, W. Hollik, G. Weiglein, Phys. Rev. D58 (1998) 091701, hep-ph/9803277 13. S. Heinemeyer, W. Hollik, G. Weiglein, Phys. Lett. B440 (1998) 296-304, hep-ph/9807423 14. J. R. Espinosa, R.-J. Zhang, hep-ph/9912236 15. H. E. Haber, hep-ph/9305248. Proceedings of INFN Eloisatron Project: 23rd Workshop: The Decay Properties of SUSY Particles, Erice, Italy, 28 Sep-4 Oct 1992, p. 321-372 16. M. Drees, K. Hagiwara, Phys. Rev. D42 (1990) 1709–1725 17. P. Gosdzinsky, J. Solá, Phys. Lett. B254 (1991) 139–147 18. P.H. Chankowski et al., Nucl. Phys. B417 (1994) 101–129 19. D. Garcia, J. Solá, Mod. Phys. Lett. A9 (1994) 211–224 20. A. Dabelstein, Z. Phys. C67 (1995) 495–512, hep-ph/9409375 21. D. Garcia, R. A. Jiménez, J. Solá, Phys. Lett. B347 (1995) 309–320, hep-ph/9410310 22. D. Garcia, R. A. Jim´enez, J. Solá, Phys. Lett. B347 (1995) 321–331, hep-ph/9410311. Erratum-ibid. B351, 602 (1995) 23. J. A. Coarasa, D. Garcia, J. Guasch, R. A. Jiménez, J. Sol`a, Eur. Phys. J. C2 (1998) 373, hep-ph/9607485 24. A. Djouadi, V. Driesen, W. Hollik, J. I. Illana, Eur. Phys. J. C1 (1998) 149–162, hep-ph/9612362 25. M. Carena, M. Quirós, C. E. M.Wagner, Nucl. Phys. B461 (1996) 407–436, hep-ph/9508343 26. P. Chankowski, S. Pokorski, J. Rosiek, Nucl. Phys. B423 (1994) 437–496, hep-ph/9303309 27. S. Alam, K. Hagiwara, S. Kanemura, R. Szalapski, Y. Umeda, hep-ph/0002066 28. T. Inami, C. S. Lim, A. Yamada, Mod. Phys. Lett. A7 (1992) 2789–2798 29. H. E. Haber. SCIPP-92-31, in Perspectives in Physics, World Scientific, (1992), p.79-125 30. J. A. Coarasa, R. A. Jiménez, J. Sol`a, Phys. Lett. B389 (1996) 312–320, hep-ph/9511402 31. M. Carena, S. Mrenna, C. E. M. Wagner, hep-ph/9907422 32. T. Appelquist, J. Carazzone, Phys. Rev. D11 (1975) 2856 33. A. Dobado, M. J. Herrero, S. Peñaranda, Eur. Phys. J. C7 (1999) 313, hep-ph/9710313 34. A. Dobado, M. J. Herrero, S. Peñaranda, Eur. Phys. J. C12 (2000) 673, hep-ph/9903211 35. H. Haber, M. Herrero, H. Logan, S. Pe˜naranda, S. Rigolin, D. Temes, FTUAM 99-27, hep- h/0007006 36. M. B. Einhorn, D. R. T. Jones, M. Veltman, Nucl. Phys. B191 (1981) 146 37. T. Appelquist, C. Bernard, Phys. Rev. D22 (1980) 200 38. A. C. Longhitano, Phys. Rev. D22 (1980) 1166 39. A. C. Longhitano, Nucl. Phys. B188 (1981) 118 40. M. J. Herrero, E. Ruiz Morales, Nucl. Phys. B418 (1994) 431–455, hep-ph/9308276 41. M. J. Herrero, E. Ruiz Morales, Nucl. Phys. B437 (1995) 319–355, hep-ph/9411207 42. S. Dittmaier, C. Grosse-Knetter, Phys. Rev. D52 (1995) 7276–7293, hep-ph/9501285 43. D. Espriu, J. Matias, Phys. Lett. B341 (1995) 332–341, hep-ph/9407292 44. M. Bohm, H. Spiesberger, W. Hollik, Fortsch. Phys. 34 (1986) 687 45. J. F. Gunion, H. E. Haber, Nucl. Phys. B272 (1986) 1. Erratum ibid. B402 (1993) 567-569 46. G. ’t Hooft, M. Veltman, Nucl. Phys. B153 (1979) 365–401 47. G. Passarino, M. Veltman, Nucl. Phys. B160 (1979) 151 48. G. Giavarini, C. P. Martin, F. Ruiz-Ruiz, Nucl. Phys. B381 (1992) 222–280, hep-th/9206007 49. W. Hollik, Fortschr. Phys. 38 (1990) 165–260 50. S. Peñaranda Rivas, Desacoplamiento de Part´ıculas Supersimétricas. PhD thesis, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Madrid (Spain), January, 2000 51. A. Denner, Fortschr. Phys. 41 (1993) 307–420 52. S. Dittmaier, C. Grosse-Knetter, Nucl. Phys. B459 (1996) 497–536, hep-ph/9505266 53. D. Espriu, M. J. Herrero, Nucl. Phys. B373 (1992) 117–168