Ultracompact polarization converter with a dual subwavelength trench built in a silicon-on-insulator waveguide

Research Projects
Organizational Units
Journal Issue
The design and fabrication of an ultracompact silicon-on-insulator polarization converter is reported. The polarization conversion with an extinction ratio of 16 dB is achieved for a conversion length of only 10 mu m. Polarization rotation is achieved by inducing a vertical asymmetry by forming in the waveguide core two subwavelength trenches of different depths. By taking advantage of the calibrated reactive ion etch lag, the two depths are implemented using a single mask and etching process. The measured converter loss is -0.7 dB and the 3 dB bandwidth is 26 nm.
© 2012 Optical Society of America. Financial support from the Spanish Ministry of Science and Innovation (MICINN) is acknowledged under grants TEC2008-04105 and TEC2009-10152.
1. A. Liu, L. Liao, Y. Chetrit, J. Basak, H. Nguyen, D. Rubin, and M. Paniccia, in Proceedings of the Fifth International Conference on Group IV Photonics (2008), pp. 368–370. 2. M. A. Foster, A. C. Turner, J. E. Sharping, B. S. Schmidt, M. Lipson, and A. L. Gaeta, Nature 441, 960 (2006). 3. A. Densmore, D.-X. Xu, P. Waldron, S. Janz, P. Cheben, J. Lapointe, A. Delâge, B. Lamontagne, J. H. Schmid, and E. Post, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 18, 2520 (2006). 4. P. Cheben, J. H. Schmid, A. Delâge, A. Densmore, S. Janz, B. Lamontagne, J. Lapointe, E. Post, P. Waldron, and D.-X. Xu, Opt. Express 15, 2299 (2007). 5. J. Yamauchi, M. Yamanoue, and H. Nakano, J. Lightwave Technol. 26, 1708 (2008). 6. D. Vermeulen, S. Selvaraja, W. Bogaerts, and G. Roelkens, presented at the Seventh International Conference on Group IV Photonics, Beijing, China, 2010, paper WC6 7. Y. Yue, L. Zhang, M. Song, R. G. Beausoleil, and A. E. Willner, Opt. Express 17, 20694 (2009). 8. C. Brooks, P. E. Jessop, H. Deng, D. O. Yevick, and G. Tarr, Opt. Eng. 45, 044603 (2006). 9. J. Zhang, T. Y. Liow, M. Yu, G. Q. Lo, and D. L. Kwong, Opt. Express 18, 25264 (2010). 10. D. Dai and J. E. Bowers, Opt. Express 19, 10940 (2011). 11. L. Liu, Y. Ding, K. Yvind, and J. M. Hvam, Opt. Lett. 36, 1059 (2011). 12. S. H. Kim, R. Takei, Y. Shoji, and T. Mizumoto, Opt. Express 17, 11267 (2009). 13. B. M. Holmes and D. C. Hutchings, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 18, 43 (2006). 14. D. M. H. Leung, B. M. A. Rahman, and K. T. V. Grattan, IEEE Photon. J. 3, 381 (2011). 15. P. Cheben, P. J. Bock, J. H. Schmid, J. Lapointe, S. Janz, D.-X. Xu, A. Densmore, A. Delâge, B. Lamontagne, and T. J. Hall, Opt. Lett. 35, 2526 (2010).